Researching, writing and teaching about the Beat Generation movement

About - The Beat Studies Association


The Beat Studies Association was founded in December 2004. Our purpose is to encourage scholarship on the writers and other artists affiliated with the Beat movement.

We provide a medium of communication among scholars interested in the Beats by hosting an annual meeting, promoting presentations at scholarly conferences, organizing conferences devoted to Beat writers and their associates, and offering other opportunities for critical exchange. We are affiliated with the American Literature Association.

All scholars, teachers, and students engaged in researching, writing, and teaching about the Beat movement and its participants are invited to join.


President — Matt Theado, Kobe City University of Foreign Studies
Vice President — Hassan Melehy, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Treasurer — Steven Belletto, Lafayette College
Secretary – Kurt Hemmer, Harper College

At-large Board Member — Mary Paniccia Carden, Edinboro University of Pennsylvania

At-large Board Member — Deborah Geis, DePauw University

Communications Manager — John Whalen-Bridge, National University of Singapore

Founding Members — Ann Charters, Nancy Grace, Tim Hunt, Ronna Johnson, Jennie Skerl, Tony Trigilio